God’s Plan

As I sit in the waiting room I am asking God “Where do I go from here?” All I hear in response are the taps of impatient feet and heavy sighs as we all wait to get what we have been promised. It can be different for all of us. For some of us it is that dream job, or that house, or a person or that healing or even simply just an answer. It seems like we all have dreams and questions that are just out of reach.

Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

I have been feeling very anxious about the future, my future. I am nearing a change in my life where my apartment lease is up and my job is ending. I really have no idea what God has in store for me or inclination for what direction to take. I do have dreams and visions for my life but they seem too big and too impossible to be accomplished. It has been so discouraging when I pray to God I hear nothing about which direction to go. He says be present and that he leads me step by step. This answer hasn’t satisfied me but I have to learn to be lead by God each day. It is being faithful with the little things each day that is important. The little things we find mundane today are actually the foundation of the bigger things God has in store for our future.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

I might not be able to see over the horizon but God is already there. He is working in places I can not yet see. Psalm 23,5 Says that the Lord prepares a table for me  in the presence of my enemies. Not only does God prepare something good and abundant for us he does it in the midst of the things which were meant to destroy us. Trust God’s timing for your life. There are different seasons for a reason. Remember Jesus had to lay down his life to gain it eternally. I think the same goes for us. Ask and listen. He will always respond even if it’s not the answer you want to hear. The answers are there even if they aren’t in the time frame we had in mind.

Good fathers don’t always give their children what they want but what is good for them. A child might want to eat candy and potato chips for every meal but any good parent won’t let them destroy themselves but eat what is healthy for them. God in the same way guides and leads us in an everlasting way towards righteousness. He wants the best for us even if we disagree or don’t understand his ways.

Hebrews 12:5-6  (NIV)

And have you completely forgotten this word of encouragement that addresses you as a father addresses his son? It says,

“My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline,

    and do not lose heart when he rebukes you,

because the Lord disciplines the one he loves,

    and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son.”

Psalm 103:13 The LORD is like a father to his children, tender and compassionate to those who fear him.

Right now I am in a position where I feel the pressure of life. It seems like God is calling me more out of my own comfort and control and into the unknown and even suffering. Sometimes suffering is actually for the greater good. He is calling me to give up more of my wants and needs for the needs of others. This is hard. It is easy to give up things that aren’t so important to me but when he calls me to give up my free time or step out of my comfort, or to bear a burden I don’t want to is when I want to hold on to the reigns. He just says let go. Give it all away.

Hebrews 2:10 In bringing many sons and daughters to glory, it was fitting that God, for whom and through whom everything exists, should make the pioneer of their salvation perfect through what he suffered.

Wait a minute…rewind. Did that verse just say that salvation was made perfect through his suffering?

Yes. 

Seems like good things come at a cost. Once a teacher of mine said.” Accepting salvation through Jesus costs nothing but following him could cost everything. “

Being a christian (like christ) isn’t so easy after all.

1 Peter 4:12-13  (KJV)

12 Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you:

13 But rejoice, in as much as ye are partakers of Christ’s sufferings; that, when his glory shall be revealed, ye may be glad also with exceeding joy.

What ever God has asked you to endure or dream he’s place on your heart you waiting to see come true, really whatever you are waiting for is worth the long suffering. Actually our lives wouldn’t be fruitful if he didn’t have us wait. Patience is a fruit of the spirit. It is counter intuitive but long-suffering is actually evidence of God’s Spirit at work in our life.

God doesn’t want a bunch of spoiled children who get what they want the minute they ask for it. He cares about us enough to develop our character.He wants us to be strong. He wants us to be thankful. He wants us to know the good things all come from him and not of our own effort.

James 1:17 Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.

Oh how he loves us! Don’t forget how dear you are to God. Don’t forget all that he has done. We serve a God who loves to resurrect the dead. Jesus died but after three days he came back…forever! Whatever seems dead or hopeless in your life is the very place God wants to work. Instead of drawing near to doubt start speaking out life over the dead places. Draw near to God and he will draw near to you.

God asked Ezekiel in the valley to prophesy over dry bones. He told them to speak the word of the Lord over them.” Ezekiel 37:Thus saith the Lord God unto these bones; Behold, I will cause breath to enter into you, and ye shall live.And I will lay sinews upon you, and will bring up flesh upon you, and cover you with skin, and put breath in you, and ye shall live; and ye shall know that I am the Lord.” Not only did the dry bones come to life but they formed a great army. God does exceedingly more than we can ever think or ask for with our most dead and hopeless situations. Not only could God’s Spirit breathe life into dry bones but into all areas of our life, if only we surrender it. 

I can can tell you now I feel like I am in the valley and can’t see over the mountains ahead. It’s dark. It is uncertain, but I will speak the promises of God over my life and his army will surround me. He promises to lead. I will be strengthened and that which seems dead will rise with the breath of God. He has proven faithful so many times in my past. Surely I can trust my Heavenly Father with my future.

Everything is held together in his hands. That includes you! I am not sure what God’s plan is for me or for you. I do know that we are meant to love him with all our heart and love others as ourselves. In this life there will be suffering but if we are willing to be patient and endure we’ll see God’s plan is to use it for something better than we could ever imagine possible. 

Philippians 4:6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Much Love to you all, I pray God blesses you for where ever you are at in life!

You were created for a purpose. Walk in it. Walk with Jesus.

 Philippians 2:15 so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.” Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky.

Keep shining all you stars!

Leave a comment